Missing my living room full of good company after a hearty dinner, too many beers, card games, and disco music. Missing the simplicity of encountering friends on every late-night walk, every grocery store run, every trip to water my garden. Missing my not-so-little R097 family and the unbelievable support, encouragement, and laughter that flows through that building. Missing a life not pieced together from borrowed odds and ends.

I am endlessly grateful for where I am and how much I’ve been given—I don’t deserve any of it. I have so much more that I want to accomplish here than I’ll ever have time to finish. But this afternoon, I felt deeply homesick for the first time since I’ve been in California and boy, was it a sucker punch to the gut.

I love where I’m from and I love the people who have made me what I am.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

