I was going to write something pretty about Missouri summer nights.

But I’m exhausted and my melatonin is kicking in, so here’s a short list instead.

• Smell of honeysuckle.
• Humid, humid, humid….but it’s familiar and there is comfort in that.
• Cuddling into clean sheets, skin scrubbed fresh and clean from a cool shower.
• Porch beers (and whiskey gingers).
• Best friends.
• Driving home with the windows down, Sleigh Bells shaking the car with bass.

Tonight I got to celebrate the engagement of one of my favorite couples. I almost cried several times, and, much like the bride-to-be kept exclaiming, my cheeks hurt from smiling and laughing so much.

Joy, joy, joy. It surrounds and fills me.

One thought on “I was going to write something pretty about Missouri summer nights.

Leave a Reply

